A vibrant community of academics, researcher and practitioners in the field of Modern Holography and related disciplines has formed in and around De Montfort University.

Professor Martin Richardson supervises a group of Ph.D. researchers with particular interests in different fields and with varied specialties. Many carry out creative Practice Based Research.

Lead Academics in the group

Dr Martin Richardson – Professor Modern Holography

Dr Marie Bassford – Professor Physics

Current Post-Doc Researchers

Dr Vivian Amos UK/India

Current Ph.D. Researchers

MSc Tove Noorjahaan Dalenius – Art – Synthetic (digital) Holography – Data Visualisation – Practice Based Research – UK/Sweden
Charlotte Wilkinson – Application of holograms onto hand blown glass, within a craft context – Practice Based Research – UK
Michael Wiltshire UK
Daniel BlackmoreUK


Dr Tine Barkmann UK/Germany
Dr Pearl John
Dr Yin-Ren Chang 
Dr Amani Althagafi
UK/Saudi Arabia
Post-Doc Dr Isabel Azevedo UK/Portugal
MPhil Sandra Oliveira UK/Portugal
Dr Steve Smith

KTP – Knowledge Transfer Partnership

Ashley Watts JSP Architecture Ltd
James Malbon
Easibind International – Link for more information
Andy VolkovMelba Swintex

Modern Holography Associates

Jonathan RossGallery 286 – London
Dr. Hans Bjelkhagen – Professor Wrexham Glyndŵr University
Dr. Stanislovas Zacharovas
Dr. Jeff Blyth – Cambridge University

Several of our researchers take part in the DMU Practice Based Research Doctoral Training Program.